Grace…A New Definition!

Standard

pizap grace

Grace…God’s grace…His unconditional love is poured out on us all the time, but why is it so hard for me to receive it?  I am so hard on myself! I don’t need to list out those self-condemning thoughts, because you probably have them too, so we don’t need to discuss the thoughts that can so quickly cause any of us to end up paralyzed in a deep, dark hole.

1 John 3:1, “See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!”  However, due to life’s circumstances this can be difficult to grasp.  Sure, we all know this Scripture in theory, but how does it play out in our every day, everyday lives?

I find myself going back to 1 John 3 and 4.  In my Bible, I have an arrow going across the page from 1 John 3:19/20 over to 1 John 4:16.  For me, these verses will ever be connected together!  And, yes, of course, I write in my Bible.

1 John 3: 19/20 — “This is how we know that we belong to the truth and how we set our hearts at rest in His presence: If our hearts condemn us, we know that God is greater than our hearts, and He knows everything.”

Insert arrow.

1 John 4:16 — And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them.”

Please join me in reading them consecutively.

This is how we know that we belong to the truth

and how we set our hearts at rest in His presence: 

If our hearts condemn us,

we know that God is greater than our hearts,

and He knows everything...

And so we know

and rely

on the love God has for us

God is love.

Whoever lives in love lives in God,

and God in them.” 

He knows everything! He knows the intent of our hearts!!! He knows we didn’t want to do whatever we did, or fall into the paralyzing dark hole that so easily traps us by life’s hurts and our thoughts. He knows that the intent of our heart is to love Him with everything we are.  He knows everything!  Therefore, we can KNOW and RELY on the LOVE that He has for us!  No matter what!

This is not about us “Doing” the right thing.  We can’t maintain that.  However, we can live out of our intimate relationship with Him and live a life of grace.  We will make mistakes. We will have victories. One doesn’t override the other!

The other day, as I was praying and trying to grasp the concept of GRACE, I asked the Lord.  “Okay, so what IS grace from YOUR perspective?  I hear people say it is God’s Richest at Christ’s Expense.  Lord, that has never set well in my spirit.  It makes me sad, actually.  Can You tell me what Grace is?”

Then I waited.

Here’s what I sensed in my spirit. These words were far outside my realm of brilliance, so they had to be an answer from the Lord.

“My Darling One, this is GRACE.  God’s Ridiculous Acceptance Covers Everything.”

I’m sure the sound that was heard in the heavens was the sound of my brain blowing up!  What?  THAT’S GRACE?

“Yes, Delana.  THAT is MY Grace poured out into you, in your every day, everyday life.”

You mean I don’t have to be perfect? I don’t have to beat myself up for my failures? I don’t have to strive for Your acceptance?  I can simply receive Your ridiculous acceptance and let that cover everything?

“Yes.”

Friend, as you read this, I pray that you will be able to let God’s Ridiculous Acceptance Cover Everything for your life, too!

About delanab2012

I am joyful, creative, and fun. I am also serious, pensive and contemplative. I'm what you call one of those outgoing introverts. I have a genuine extroverty side but also need my introverty alone time to regroup. What's that new term? Oh yeah, ambiverts. That's a good description of me I love deeply. My best friend, is my husband David, whom I love with every fiber of my being. Friendships are very important to me. Each friend is a multifaceted treasure. I love the Kingdom of God and my Jesus, therefore, life is full of hope, joy and promise!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

