A Summer Read — Walking Butterfly…the Book!

Standard

susie book

Happy Blogiversary!  It’s been four years since I started journaling my metamorphosis. Due to the hurts of life, I had walled myself off in a cocoon of self-protection.  I can now, delightfully proclaim that I have shed those confining walls of self-protection and am learning to spread my wings and fly.  Sure, I still have incidences where, if I am not careful, I will end up caught in a butterfly net and captured, but I am learning to see those traps more quickly.

I’m going to use this post as a promotion for my friend Susie Klein. Susie – SURPRISE!  You didn’t know I was going to do this. Susie has written this powerful book called Walking Butterfly.  If you need a good summer read, this would be an excellent choice. Susie is a very good story-teller. I found myself pulled into the pages of her book and it was as if Susie was telling me about her life. I really didn’t want to finish the book because of that. These are ordinary experiences that Susie had with our extraordinary God, trying to sort out life, hurts, joys and things that make you want to go hide in a cave and never come out.  Ever.

First, I want to share a little bit about how Susie and I became friends.

We have AHHH-MAZING friends all over the planet.  If you are reading this, then chances are YOU are one of those people.  I’m pretty sure the only people who read these posts are people who love me.  Thank you!

Some our friends live in California.  They lived (and still do) in a realm of freedom that David and I had not known.  Anyway, some of you know them. Some of you ARE them!  It started with one friend, Byron and then, his power-house of a wife, Crystal.  They are the kind of people who love well.  Over the years, we would meet their friends. They are the kind of people who have really good friends.  If you are a friend of theirs, then you are a friend of ours, kind of thing.  That’s how our circle of friends extended out to California.

On one of our trips, I shared with Crystal that I wanted to meet Susie.  Susie and I had become friends on social media and that turned out to be a good match.  We are so very similar in how we process life, friends and the Kingdom of God.  I really, really wanted to meet her in person.  She was, well, rather legendary to me.  Susie, you are probably reading this and thinking – “Me, legendary? Have you been drinking?”

It was a Sunday morning and Crystal found Susie and we went to chat.  Something unusual happened in that intentional meeting.  I caught a glimpse of Susie’s heart, the love of God that gently and powerfully resided in her spirit and of His love for her.  I am not all that emotional and I began to cry.  Susie said she doesn’t friend people she doesn’t know on social media but she felt a sort of kinship with me so she broke her rule.  Yay us, Susie!  A true friendship was birthed.

One time I went out to visit and Susie and I had an entire day together in Napa Valley. Her incredibly generous husband (hubs) had a gift card to a swanky restaurant and we dined like the royal gals we are!  We had this day together to share, listen, cry, laugh and make memories together.

ANYWAY —- Walking Butterfly would be an excellent summer read.  Many of the experiences Susie shared, I understand. I have also known incredible amounts of healing, but this book took the isolation-sting out of many of those wounds. Wounds are universal.  And, the point of the book is that the vast love of God can, and does, flow into those wounds and makes us whole.  It is Susie’s story.  It is my story. I bet it is your story, too.

You can get this on Amazon.  Click here for more info. http://www.amazon.com/Walking-Butterfly-Comfy-Cocoon-Flying/dp/1523617624/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1464978459&sr=1-1&keywords=walking+butterflysusie book

And…thank YOU AHH-MAZING friend for reading and for being in my life!

About delanab2012

I am joyful, creative, and fun. I am also serious, pensive and contemplative. I'm what you call one of those outgoing introverts. I have a genuine extroverty side but also need my introverty alone time to regroup. What's that new term? Oh yeah, ambiverts. That's a good description of me I love deeply. My best friend, is my husband David, whom I love with every fiber of my being. Friendships are very important to me. Each friend is a multifaceted treasure. I love the Kingdom of God and my Jesus, therefore, life is full of hope, joy and promise!

3 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness Delana! Wow, this is so beautiful! Thank you for being my friend and for seeking me out with so much intention. I cannot tell you what that means to me. You are one of the kindest and most generous women I know and I am so grateful to know you!

  2. Delana, we share a commonality, in that we started blogging about the same time–so yay us!
    This is so sweet of you to share the impact of Susie’s friendship and the words she put to paper in her book. You are so right–‘wounds are universal.’ Thank God for his healing available to all.
    God bless you!

Leave a Reply

