Love is a Powerful Force!

Standard

Waves erosionI have had some interesting experiences lately.  These experiences have not been very pleasant.  However, they have been beneficial to show me areas of my heart that need to change.

Without over-sharing, let’s just say that when something rubs up against me that causes me to have my feathers ruffled, I have not handled that well.   Even in my venting, or obvious frustration I’m still pretty nice and most of this ruffling goes on in waves and waves on the inside of me.  We all know that waves pounding the land, in places it was not supposed to be, can be very destructive.

Was I “justified” in being ruffled over the things that happened?  Perhaps.  But I have no control over those situations or people.  What I do have is the power of choice over my response.  It seems so unfair to choose Love over anger.  But Love is the right choice.  Dang it!

Then, I think – they were harsh.  Or they demanding.  Or they were ….well, you get the idea.  What is the right choice?  Choose Love? Really?  Aw, come on!  Can’t I get angry?  Can’t I be justified in this?

What I am really angry about is that I was not _______.  I can fill in the blank with all sorts of words.  But in those moments, I am making it all about me.

In those moments when frustration and anger begin to consume me and turn into waves of destruction in my soul, I can at the very least, choose Love for myself!  In choosing Love for myself I am not letting those waves of bitterness pound my soul and erode my peace!  Then, eventually, something else begins to happen.  Grace begins to be my response instead of frustration!  Wow – how DID that happen?!?

Love is a powerful force!

If I cannot bring myself to Love someone else, in those moments of frustration, I can choose Love for myself and let Love heal me.  More Love = less internal stress!  I can’t fix anyone else but I can respond better.

About delanab2012

I am joyful, creative, and fun. I am also serious, pensive and contemplative. I'm what you call one of those outgoing introverts. I have a genuine extroverty side but also need my introverty alone time to regroup. What's that new term? Oh yeah, ambiverts. That's a good description of me I love deeply. My best friend, is my husband David, whom I love with every fiber of my being. Friendships are very important to me. Each friend is a multifaceted treasure. I love the Kingdom of God and my Jesus, therefore, life is full of hope, joy and promise!

2 responses »

  1. Dang it anyway! Ha! It does seem unfair huh? But it always comes back to love. Even on the days when I want to say “Love shmuve!!” Haha! I saw your FB status that sounded like you were bugged and I probably cheered you on. But here we are again, taking it back and getting back to love over all. Bless you my sweet and powerful friend! Sure do love you and count you as a mighty inspiration in all moods. 🙂

Leave a Reply

