I Love You More Than Dirt…

Standard

step by stepDavid YB Normal Bradbury and I are quickly approaching our wedding anniversary!  On July 3, we will celebrate 32 years of wedded bliss.  Bliss is a good word.  The dictionary defines it as: supreme happiness, utter joy, contentment.

Of course we’ve had our other moments, as all relationships do.  You know,  the ones where you really don’t like each other very much.  Working through those frustrations only deepens our commitment to each other.

Years ago, we were fortunate enough to have spent some significant moments with the late Rich Mullins.  If you do not know who he is, he was a gifted poet/songwriter.  He wrote about his deep love for God and of God’s unending passion for each of us!  If you get a chance to catch the movie that was made about his life, go see it!  It is called Ragamuffin.  It shows Rich’s struggles, which only deepens the impact of his love of God that is shown through his music.

Rich was killed in an auto accident in 1997.  David and I remember hearing the news of this dear man that we loved deeply.  His life still brings us joy and his death still brings us to tears, all these years later.

So….back to dirt.

At one of the retreats we were on, with Rich, he challenged us to write down 25 things that reminded us that life is good.  His point was we need to remember to enjoy this life that we have been given.  We often take life way too seriously.  Enjoy both the big things and the small things.

Well, David and I began to tackle this task.  It was much harder for me than it was for David.  Probably because I over think things.  Nooooo!, you say!  Anyway, we made our lists and came back to share.  I systematically numbered my paper from 1 to 25.  Again, you declare, “Of course you did.”

At the top of my list was David, of course.  What, you ask, was at the top of his list?

Dirt.

Yes, dirt.

I was third.

I don’t care what was second.

The point is.  David was first on my list and I was third on his!

This is a good example of how we think and function.  I am orderly and systematic.  David is much more of a free-thinker than I am.   Which is one of the fun things about our 32 years together.

This cataclysmic event happened in 1995.  After nearly 20 years of having this conversation and the subsequent explanation and after nearly 32 years of marriage, David still says, “I love you more than dirt” my heart still swoons!

**The pic is the song Rich wrote, “Step by Step”.  He wrote it at one of the retreats that we were on with him.  He sold each copy for $1!

About delanab2012

I am joyful, creative, and fun. I am also serious, pensive and contemplative. I'm what you call one of those outgoing introverts. I have a genuine extroverty side but also need my introverty alone time to regroup. What's that new term? Oh yeah, ambiverts. That's a good description of me I love deeply. My best friend, is my husband David, whom I love with every fiber of my being. Friendships are very important to me. Each friend is a multifaceted treasure. I love the Kingdom of God and my Jesus, therefore, life is full of hope, joy and promise!

One response »

  1. Ha! I love this post. What a funny sweet story. I love married sayings like this one that no one else understands because they were not part of the story behind it.

Leave a Reply

