The Transforming Power of Identity and Community…Part 2

Standard

From my previous post, the question arises – How DID David and I heal up so much? It’s kind of like the chicken and the egg.  Which came first?  Identity or Community?  I mean, seriously, I have known, and lived out, my identity pretty darn well over the last several years.  But, I lived it out in a state of isolation.

For me, the pain I had experienced, created the strong pull to live an isolated life.  Hurt has a way of clouding our vision.  I forgot who I was in a corporate sense; therefore, my cave became more appealing.  I’m probably no different from anyone else, in that, I could still be “me” with a select few.  Therefore, I thought I was ‘fine’.  However, our desire for Community was being revived.  Healing brings your spirit into focus.

What you focus on – you empower.  For all these years we focused on what we were not, in a corporate sense – therefore, we allowed THAT to be the defining power over our lives.  Comparing oneself to others is deadly to your spirit.  You’ll never measure up, because other people are not the standard by which to measure!

Instead!!! And I do so love that word – INSTEAD – we came into agreement with Heaven’s perspective that we are accepted, loved and have things to offer.  That isn’t pride!  It is truth.  By coming into agreement with that truth, it changed our focus, in a corporate sense.  Then THAT became the defining power over our lives.  But, and I can’t say that enough – for us – it was in community, not isolation that this really began to bring accelerated healing.

So, while we were being transformed yet again, we trusted people in spite of the fact that these people were – well – people.  We ended up trusting God the Father more than people and found that this is a brilliant idea.  God, the Keeper of Our Hearts is more than capable of meeting the needs of each one of us.

If we get wounded, He knew that ahead of time and made provision within His own heart to heal us.  Each Person in the Trinity has a personality and is accessible to us at any point!  It’s like running with the Ultimate Tribe where we can find healing, joy, strength, hope, etc.  Hebrews 4:15-16 says,  For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have One who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet He did not sin.  Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

If we are soaring with joy, They smile at our increasing trust level. And in those moments, we can love other people well.  You know – those who prefer the isolation of their own caves.  By knowing the acceptance that comes from our true identity, we no longer live in fear of being known because Father God knows us and loves us! And when you know who you really are, the security that comes from that strengthens you in your everyday life in community.

Oh, by the way – that also means seeing Father God in His true identity – as approachable, loving, kind, generous, full of joy, etc.  But that will be another blog post.

Maybe it’s just that we are older, wiser and have more insurance, Towanda.  But the transformation in both David and me, over this last year, has brought us out into the open.  We know the joy of being healed by the Ones who love us most – The Trinity!

About delanab2012

I am joyful, creative, and fun. I am also serious, pensive and contemplative. I'm what you call one of those outgoing introverts. I have a genuine extroverty side but also need my introverty alone time to regroup. What's that new term? Oh yeah, ambiverts. That's a good description of me I love deeply. My best friend, is my husband David, whom I love with every fiber of my being. Friendships are very important to me. Each friend is a multifaceted treasure. I love the Kingdom of God and my Jesus, therefore, life is full of hope, joy and promise!

3 responses »

  1. Bravo, bravo – yay – living into your identity in community! AND sharing it!! Haha! Papa, Jesus and The Holy Spirit are brilliant through you, Delana!

  2. Ha ha ha!! I hit the “unread” button on my cell phone and emails from June popped up. 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

