Ode to Toast

Standard

I love the simplicity of you.

I think you may be underrated.

You have many qualities that I admire.

You are consistent.

I can count on you every Sunday morning to be there for me.

You are diverse.

You challenge me to think about what I want in that moment.

And you, Dear Toast, morph into my very desire.

I can sprinkle you with cinnamon and sugar.

I can slather you with cream cheese and strawberries.

I can change it up with peanut butter, especially the crunchy kind.

You know, the kind with peanuts in it.

Sometimes, you get a little sassy and turn yourself into cinnamon raisin bliss.

Oh, on those decadent days,

You know the ones I speak of.

Where we huddle up together and you ask me to put a blanket of Nutella on you.

Ah…those are sweet, sweet days indeed.

And yet, when you call my name on those simplest of days

You bring out the purist in me by just asking for

Butter.

About delanab2012

I am joyful, creative, and fun. I am also serious, pensive and contemplative. I'm what you call one of those outgoing introverts. I have a genuine extroverty side but also need my introverty alone time to regroup. What's that new term? Oh yeah, ambiverts. That's a good description of me I love deeply. My best friend, is my husband David, whom I love with every fiber of my being. Friendships are very important to me. Each friend is a multifaceted treasure. I love the Kingdom of God and my Jesus, therefore, life is full of hope, joy and promise!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

