Poetry

Standard

I’ve never thought of myself as poetic.  However, during this season, I’m discovering a lot of things about myself as the Lord works within me.

I’m going all out here and sharing the two poems I wrote recently.  The first one was written the day of the Silly Walk Meltdown.  The second poem was written a week later, during our women’s conference.

Longing

I remember when I was oblivious to what others thought of me.
When I was unhindered.
Uninhibited.
I remember being unafraid.
But time, circumstances and situations had a way of changing me into one who toned it down.
I became one who played it safe.
Some would say that is growing up, but what if that’s something other than maturity?
What if that is captivity?
What if I dare to explore who the Father says I am and live accordingly?
Unafraid, again, but this time confident in my Father’s love and my reputation in His eyes?
What does wholly redeemed look like?
Holy and wholly free?

Freedom! 

Suddenly, there was the sound of breaking glass.

Shards of glass became airborne projectiles.

Sharp, precise weapons that hit their targets.

Fear – penetrated.

Insecurity – impaled.

Hesitancy hesitated and was pinned to the ground. 

After the glistening dust settled, I looked around.

My glass cage was no longer my captor.

The shattered pieces of glass covering the ground began to vibrate.

I watched as the clear pieces of shrapnel were transformed into beautiful jewels.

These treasures became the handle in the hilt of my sword.

A sword that my Father fashioned for me with His own hands.

My captors were defeated.

Rendered powerless.

And I was free.

I realize that many pray for years for their healing.  I do not know why the Lord chose to grant me such grace.  I didn’t even know I was so bound up.  Gratefulness continues to fill my heart as I emerge from the dust and continue to allow the Father’s love to do its work.

About delanab2012

I am joyful, creative, and fun. I am also serious, pensive and contemplative. I'm what you call one of those outgoing introverts. I have a genuine extroverty side but also need my introverty alone time to regroup. What's that new term? Oh yeah, ambiverts. That's a good description of me I love deeply. My best friend, is my husband David, whom I love with every fiber of my being. Friendships are very important to me. Each friend is a multifaceted treasure. I love the Kingdom of God and my Jesus, therefore, life is full of hope, joy and promise!

One response »

Leave a Reply

